Why You Should Quickly Check Your Location Settings in Facebook

You may not remember, but Facebook’s mobile app on Android and iOS comes with several geolocation features, which let you get the weather and see if your friends are near your location.
If you discover them while reading this article, know that you only have a few days left to take advantage of them. Facebook has just announced through a notification a little too discreetly sent to its mobile applications, the withdrawal of these two features by May 31, 2022.

After this date, Facebook will stop collecting your location information (location history and background location) if you have enabled it. The social network will leave you until 1uh next August to access your location history if you wish to download this information.
Be careful however, if the platform indicates that it deletes all the data provided beyond this date, it specifies that it allows the collection of certain location data necessary for the operation of other “experiments”.

And that’s the rub. Because if the social network offers several options for those who would have the power to obtain a backup of this required location data, it also explains that you only have a few days left if you wish to oppose the collection of your data from locations if it is already activated on your account.

Update your location settings if you no longer want to share your location history or location in the background. These settings will be disabled and you will no longer be able to see or update them after May 31, 2022. Facebook says in the low-key notification sent two days ago.

In other words, without action on your part before May 31, Facebook may collect your location data for its other features without giving you the option to deactivate this collection.

Leave a Comment