The social network decides to end its “nearby friends” feature and others that are based on the geolocation of users.
The Facebook feature called “nearby friends” allows you to mutually share your location with your friends. When the user uses this option, he is then alerted when a friend is near him.
And according to media outlet 9to5Mac, Facebook has started notifying its users that “nearby friends” and other location-related features will soon be gone from the app. This will be done at the end of the month.
The reasons for this choice on the part of Facebook are not clear. The company simply indicated that all information related to these features would be deleted from its servers.
Features will disappear on May 31
Facebook users on iOS and Android have received a notification from the social network, their informant of the end of “nearby friends”. Facebook also said other features like time alerts, location history, and background location will soon be gone.
According to Facebook, “nearby friends” and other location-based features will no longer be available to its users, after May 31, 2022.
“Information you shared that was used for these experiences, including location history and background location, will cease to be provided after May 31, 2022, even if you have already enabled it”
Some data like location history, which automatically uses location to create a map of places visited, will be available for download until August 1, 2022 but after that date this data will be deleted.
The media recalls that this does not mean that Facebook will stop collecting the location of its users. The company states that location data will always be shown “for other experiences”. It is still possible to deactivate access to its position on Facebook, in the privacy settings.